Ah, a fish!!

Did you know that goldfish crackers were invented in 1962? What in the world did mothers do before then!?! As a mom of a 2 year old and a soon to be one year old, we like our goldfish. Let’s face it, if I was willing to buy that big box more often, we would probably never stop eating them.

In an effort to create a healthier life for my little ones, I have been revamping their snacks lately. Our ancestors didn’t have prepackaged convenience foods, and they did pretty well for themselves. And since my goal is to live a more old fashioned, simple life, I will also start transitioning to life without prepackaged snacks. Not to mention the fact that they are full of chemicals and additives and preservatives that I really don’t want my children eating.

This is Thing One saying “Ah, a bird!” Well, when she sees goldfish she says, “Ah, a fish!” with this exact expression…..what a cutie pie 🙂

So, without further ado, healthy homemade goldfish crackers!

Instead of a fish cookie cutter, which I didn’t feel like buying, I just cut them into little squares with a pizza cutter. It worked great!

1 1/2c shredded cheddar cheese

4 T butter

1/2 c whole wheat flour

1/4 c brown rice flour

1/8  t garlic powder

1/8 t salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until a ball of dough forms. (I used a blender. Can it be done, yes. Is it easy? No. Go with the food processor.) Roll out the dough on a floured surface, and cut however you want. They do sell a mini fish cookie cutter, I’m assuming just for this reason, but I didn’t want to buy one. I just cut squares with a pizza cutter and it worked great. Bake for 12-15 min until slightly brown at the edges.

Thing One helping mommy stir…Thing Two was napping 🙂

If the dough is too soft, wrap it in wax paper and place it in the fridge for 15-30 min. Too long, and it will be hard as a rock, so check it often!

I got the original recipe from here:http://smittenkitchen.com/2011/03/whole-wheat-goldfish-crackers/ and only slightly altered it. I don’t use all purpose flour, so I replaced it with brown rice flour. I’m sure you can do all whole wheat flour if you wanted, or only all purpose flour, it’s up to you! Also, I had just ran out of onion powder, so I subbed garlic and it was great!

I think I might have to call them cheese crackers….they really aren’t fish

These turned out delicious! My daughters love them, I love them, and they are so much cheaper and healthier than the kind you can buy at the store.

 

 

About alixwhenlifewaseasy

Hey all!! I am a stay-at-home mom of two beautiful little girls, Bella and Charlotte. My amazing husband is currenlty in the Marine Corps Reserves and is working on his BA in order to become an officer. We live in Colorado and love it here!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ah, a fish!!

  1. Lisa says:

    Excellent Alix! They sound yummy and look legit! Thanks for sharing. I love the snapshots of Bella helping Mommy. Cute! 😀

  2. Alysha Gregory says:

    I was just craving Goldfish today!!! I am totally going to make this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

