Sweet Summertime

I don’t know where you live, but it is HOT here in Colorado….and I mean REALLY hot. We had the longest streak of days over 100 degrees last week, and our days continue to be in the high 90s.

Now, cooking with oven is just painful in the summertime. We don’t like to use our AC, both to save money and energy, so our house is usually in the 80s. Add our ancient oven into the mix, and we can quickly bump up the temperature by 5 degrees.

This is my ancient oven. It makes my house REALLY hot, is hardly ever the correct temperature, and uses a ton electricity, which means it costs me a boatload to use

Here’s my problem: I love homemade bread. A lot. I am a terrible bread maker, I find it almost impossible to get my bread to rise. Out the 15 or so loaves I’ve made (yes I’m still a newbie) I think maybe 3 have risen. But even my dense hockey pucks taste delicious. Add a little honey butter and I am in heaven! So what’s a girl to do when it’s too hot to bake yet she’s craving homemade bread?

Make it in a crockpot of course!

Crockpot bread! SO delicious!

All right, here are the directions:

Follow the recipe (posted at the end) to mix the ingredients, and leave the dough covered in an oiled bowl for an hour to rise. Turn the crockpot to warm, then get out your dough, punch it down and shape it into an oiled loaf pan. Inside the crockpot, place some kind of rack on the bottom. This can be a cooking rack if you have one that fits, a canning jar lid, an aluminum foil snake, etc. This part is VERY important so that the air circulates correctly and will bake your bread nice and evenly! Place the loaf pan with your dough in it on top of your rack, place the lid on the crockpot and leave it on warm to rise for an hour. When the hour is up, turn the crockpot to high and bake for an hour and a half. That’s it! You’re simply replacing the oven with the crockpot, everything else in the recipe stays the same!

As you can tell, it didn’t quite rise. But it was delicious! We finished this loaf in a day!

Here is the recipe that I used:http://www.hansenchristiancenter.com/2012/06/11/classic-sandwich-bread/ The only thing I did differently was replaced the white flour with whole wheat flour.

What do you do to beat the summertime heat?

About alixwhenlifewaseasy

Hey all!! I am a stay-at-home mom of two beautiful little girls, Bella and Charlotte. My amazing husband is currenlty in the Marine Corps Reserves and is working on his BA in order to become an officer. We live in Colorado and love it here!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Summertime

  1. Lisa says:

    What a great idea! I can’t believe you were able to get it to brown in the crockpot; neat! It looks pretty tasty. Way to stay cool AND eat delicious homemade bread! 😀

Leave a Reply

